About us

On 8 August 2021 more than 50 CRSC members and friends enjoyed a cruise round Bute on Waverley, with time ashore at Tighnabruaich — the first opportunity Club members had had to sail together since the start of the pandemic 18 months previously

CRSC brings together everyone with an interest in Scottish shipping.

In defiance of the pandemic we have organised a series of ‘virtual’ meetings by Zoom video conferencing, built around a special talk or presentation. These meetings can be accessed by members and friends from around the world, in a way that was impossible at traditional gatherings in Glasgow. After the formal presentation, members have a chance to chat informally with each other online.

Under normal conditions we organise special excursions, often involving unusual itineraries, and hold winter meetings at Jurys Inn, near Glasgow’s Central Station.

Each year we produce two highly prized publications, Clyde Steamers and Review, which are issued free to members.

We also publish a popular DVD capturing key ferry movements and archive footage, and offer discounted prints and books.

Our digital archive, comprising hundreds of unique and rare photographs, can be accessed through ‘members only’ posts on this website.

To join CRSC and get all the benefits, please click here.

CRSC was founded in 1932, when the Clyde teemed with shipyards and paddle steamers. Today we focus on the fleet of car ferries and passenger ships around the British coast, especially on the west of Scotland.

Uniting past and present is the Club’s unchanging purpose — to create opportunities for enthusiasts to meet, sail and talk together.

A list of officeholders can be found further down this page.

If you have any questions about CRSC, please drop an email to info@crsc.org.uk

The annual Review is sent to all paid-up CRSC members

Front cover of the 2022 edition of Clyde Steamers

Covers of Review 2015

CRSC’s Review has everything you might want to know about shipping activity on the west of Scotland throughout the year

TS King George V graced the front cover of the 2019 Clyde Steamers

The front cover of the 2018 Clyde Steamers featured MV Lord of the Isles











CRSC officeholders 2022-23

Officeholders are elected by paid-up members at the Club’s Annual General Meeting. The following officeholders were approved at the April 2022 AGM.

President: Robin Copland

Vice-President: Jim Stirling

Honorary Secretary: Eric Schofield

Honorary Treasurer and Archivist: William Tomlinson

Membership Secretary: Stuart Craig

Cruise Coordinator: Neil Guthrie

Review Editor: Douglas Allan

Magazine Editor: Andrew Clark

Members of management committee: Alex Forrest, Carrie MacKinnon

Honorary Auditor: Graeme Hogg

Our nominated excursion to Arran on 10 April 2022 was supported by about 25 members and friends — not all of whom were present for this group photo on the pedestrianised causeway of the old Brodick linkspan. The atmosphere was convivial and the chat plentiful — echoing everyone’s appreciation of the fact that, after two years of the pandemic, we could enjoy being out on the water again together

During the CRSC Round Arran charter of MV Isle of Arran on 18 January 2020, Captain Jay Shibel welcomed Club members onto the bridge, including Sandra Hay (left) and Iain and Carrie MacKinnon (right)

An image of the MacBrayne turbine King George V shown by Eric Schofield at his January 2021 Zoom presentation

A screenshot from John McNulty’s Zoom presentation on 10 March 2021, showing his magnificently lifelike model of Jeanie Deans

After his talk to a packed CRSC audience at Jurys Inn, Glasgow, on 8 January 2020, CalMac Operations Director Robert Morrison (second from left) was congratulated by Club member Cameron Wilson (left), former CalMac executive Bill Main (second from right) and Captain Guy Robertson (right), master of MV Finlaggan

During our excursion to Islay on Finlaggan in October 2018, Captain Callan Sloan was pictured engaging with one of the groups of CRSC members invited up to the ship’s bridge. We were also given a tour of the engine room

In January 2019 CRSC chartered CalMac ferry Isle of Arran for a midwinter cruise round Ailsa Craig. The excursion was a huge success, with more than 240 people taking part, many of them enjoying a bridge visit as the ship neared our destination

Another view of CRSC’s hugely successful charter of MV Isle of Arran in January 2019. The closer the ship came, the greater the fever of anticipation: CRSC’s charter was the first time a modern CalMac ferry had given a public sailing round Ailsa Craig. Isle of Arran sailed clockwise and anti-clockwise round the isolated granite island, and gave a spectacular demonstration of ‘turning on a sixpence’ off the lighthouse. We were really lucky with the weather: the waters were remarkably calm

Jeanie Deans, Queen Mary II and Duchess of Montrose at Rothesay in 1938 — one of many enthralling images shown by Iain Quinn at CRSC’s AGM on 21 April 2021. During the pandemic the Club held a series of meetings by online Zoom video conferencing, enabling the attendance of a much wider geographical spread of members than usual

Catch up with CRSC’s latest news and reports by clicking here.