April 2011 Meeting – Club Annual General Meeting

Prior to the Club AGM, a Special General Meeting was held to discuss and consider the proposed revised Constitution presented to members by the Committee.  Following discussion on several points, and requests to make some minor grammatical changes, the new Constitution was approved.

The Club Annual General Meeting then took place and the key points from that meeting are noted below.
In his President’s Report retiring President, Andrew Clark, highlighted the challenges facing the Club with its ageing membership profile, the difficulties faced by all “formal clubs” in attracting new “enthusiasts of the 21st century” to join any kind of organisation and the severe competition from web-based enthusiast sites and other social networking forums.
To add to all these difficulties the sole surviving example of our real interest on the Clyde – steam ships for passengers – PS Waverley, is also facing a very difficult season.
You can read Andrew’s full report here.
Gordon Law was elected as the new President.
Derek Docherty was elected as Vice President
Angus Ross and Neil Guthrie were elected as new Ordinary Committee Members
Jeanie Deans at Tighnabruiach After the formal business was concluded, Iain Quinn presented “A brief pictorial record of Jeanie Deans”